On October 21, 2009, Darrell Armstrong (’99B), pastor of Shiloh Baptist Church in Trenton, New Jersey, delivered the opening prayer for the House of Representatives in Washington DC. Armstrong also participated in New Jersey Congressman Rush Holt’s DC Day for New Jersey Religious Leaders, where more than sixty religious leaders from Central New Jersey met with members of Congress, the House chaplain, and members of the administration, including the White House Office of Faith-Based and Neighborhood Partnerships.

Keith Geiselman (’95B), pastor of the First Presbyterian Church of Ypsilanti, Michigan, won the first prize of $500 from Alma College for a sermon contest they sponsored in celebration of the 500th anniversary of the birth of John Calvin. Geiselman preached three sermons on Calvin in July.

The Minnesota Women’s Press honored Kristine Holmgren (’79B) with the Changemaker 2009 Award (“Changing the Universe through Women’s Stories”) for her leadership with the Dead Feminist Society of Minnesota. The award is presented to an individual who has “acted to improve the lives of women and girls in the year.” Holmgren founded the Dead Feminist Society to honor the vision of American feminism and to support Minnesota feminists in their commitment to stand for gender equality, dignity, and fairness.

In November, Rob Morrison (’69B), pastor of Cornerstone Presbyterian Church in Jackson, New Jersey, won the New Jersey State Coalition for Inclusive Ministries Service Award for the church’s ministry with the deaf. The coalition is an interfaith network of religious groups, service and advocacy organizations, congregations, individuals, lay people, clergy, families—people with and without disabilities and special needs all committed to supporting faith communities in working to fully include all people with disabilities or special needs as valuable members.
The Calvin Quincentenary in Geneva awarded its Lifetime Achievement Award for Liturgics to Hughes Oliphant Old (’58B), “Dean of Reformed liturgical scholars in our day, for calling the church back to the sources for worship according to scripture, affirmed by the fathers and reformers: Chrysostom, Augustine, and Calvin.” The award was given on July 8, 2009, in Geneva, Switzerland, honoring exceptional scholarship and achievement, and was accepted by Terry L. Johnson of the Independent Presbyterian Church in Savannah, Georgia.

Cynthia Rigby (’89B, ’98D) was selected as the single North American representative to the international Calvin conference, “Calvin and the Present Day World,” organized by the Russian Christian Academy for the Humanities in Saint Petersburg, Russia. The conference was held in September. The title of her lecture was “Calvin and the Wondrous Glory of God.”

Andrew Van Kirk (’08B, ’09M) was awarded the Reverend Dr. E.F. Michael Morgan Director’s Award by the Evangelical Education Society (EES) of The Episcopal Church for his outstanding work. Van Kirk used EES funding to develop a four-week typology curriculum for use in parish adult education: Reading Stories, Reading Christ: The Bible, Typology, and History. He is director of Christian education at All Saints’ Episcopal Church in Princeton.

Angelique Walker-Smith (’95P), executive director of The Church Federation of Greater Indianapolis, received national distinction as a USA Senior Fulbright Scholar and Specialist. She was invited to serve (October 17 through November 1, 2009) in the Central West African nation of Cameroon, and was based at the USA Embassy in Doula and at a faith-based institution of higher learning in Kumba. Walker-Smith’s role was to build fraternal relationships of goodwill as a USA representative by teaching, speaking, and serving as a facilitator, resource, and partner for faith-based community development initiatives reflective of local, national, and global interests.