Through the generous gift of Dr. Rimmer and Mrs. Ruth de Vries, The Kuyper Center is able to make a number awards each year.

The Abraham Kuyper Prize for Excellence in Reformed Theology and Public Life is awarded each year to a scholar or community leader whose outstanding contribution to their chosen sphere reflects the ideas and values characteristic of the Neo-Calvinist vision of religious engagement in matters of social, political and cultural significance in one or more of the ‘spheres’ of society. A condition of the Prize is that the recipient deliver a lecture on a topic appropriate to the aims of the Center. This lecture normally opens the annual spring conference, which is usually on a related theme.

2015 - Congressman John R. Lewis

Previous Prize Winners and Lectures

2014 - Dr Nicholas Wolterstorff, Noah Porter Professor of Philosophy Emeritus, Yale University
“Justice, Beauty, and Worship”

2013 - Dr. Russel Botman, Rector of the University of Stellenbosch, South Africa
Dread, Hope and the African Dream: An Ecumenical Collage

2012 - Dr. Ian Buruma, Henry R. Luce Professor of Human Rights and Journalism, Bard College
Abraham Kuyper and the Muslim Question

2011 - Marilynn Robinson, writer and Pulitzer Prize Winner

2010 - Lord Jonathan Sacks, Chief Rabbi of the United Hebrew Congregations of the Commonwealth
“Covenant and Hope in Civil Society”

2009 - Alvin Plantinga, Professor of Philosophy, University of Notre Dame
“Science and Religion: Where the Conflict Really Lies”

2008 - Oliver O’Donovan, Professor of Practical Theology, University of Edinburgh
“Reflections on Tolerance”

2007 - Richard J. Mouw, President of Fuller Seminary
"Culture, Church, and Civil Society: Kuyper for a New Century"

2006 - Robert A. Seiple, US Ambassador
"The Gospel Blimp Revisited: Reflections on Christian Witness and Persecution"

2005 - Charles Villa-Vincencio (2005)
"Aeolian Harp of Renewal: The Private and the Public in Political Engagement"

2004 - Jan Peter Balkenende, Prime Minister of The Netherlands
"Solid Values for a Better Future"

2003 - Andrew Young, US Ambassador to the United Nations
“Principled Pluralism and Contemporary Development in Africa"

2001 - James Skillen (2001)
"E Pluribus Unum and Faith-Based Welfare Reform: A Kuyperian Moment for the Church in God's World"

2000 - Eka Darmaputera (2000)
"The Search for a New Place and Role of Religion within the Democratic Order of the Post-Sooharto Indonesia"

1999 - John Witte, Director of the Center for Law and Religion, Emory University
"God's Joust, God's Justice: The Revelations of Legal History"

1998 - George Puchinger (1998)