PTS Professors Ellen Charry, Cleophus LaRue, and Bruce McCormack were installed into their new positions on October 19 during the Seminary community’s morning worship service in Miller Chapel.

Charry is now the Margaret W. Harmon Professor of Historical and Systematic Theology. She has been a faculty member since 1997.

LaRue is now the Francis Landey Professor of Homiletics. He joined the faculty in 1996.


Bruce McCormack

McCormack, PTS’s Charles Hodge Professor of Systematic Theology, was appointed to the Hodge Chair in June 2008, and assumed the position in July 2009. He joined the faculty in 1991, and has been a part of the Seminary community much longer, having earned his Ph.D. from PTS.

In May, the Board of Trustees also promoted Kenda Creasy Dean to professor of youth, church, and culture, and named James F. Kay, the Joe R. Engle Professor of Homiletics and Liturgics, as the Seminary’s new academic dean.