Through the generous gift of Dr. Rimmer and Mrs. Ruth de Vries, The Kuyper Center is able to make a number awards each year.

The Abraham Kuyper Prize for Excellence in Reformed Theology and Public Life is awarded each year to a scholar or community leader whose outstanding contribution to their chosen sphere reflects the ideas and values characteristic of the Neo-Calvinist vision of religious engagement in matters of social, political and cultural significance in one or more of the ‘spheres’ of society. A condition of the Prize is that the recipient deliver a lecture on a topic appropriate to the aims of the Center. This lecture normally opens the annual spring conference, which is usually on a related theme.

Previous Prize Winners and Lectures

2009 - Alvin Plantinga, Professor of Philosophy, University of Notre Dame “Science and Religion: Where the Conflict Really Lies”

2008 - Oliver O’Donovan, Professor of Practical Theology, University of Edinburgh “Reflections on Tolerance”

2007 - Richard J. Mouw, President of Fuller Seminary "Culture, Church, and Civil Society: Kuyper for a New Century"

2006 - Robert A. Seiple, US Ambassador "The Gospel Blimp Revisited: Reflections on Christian Witness and Persecution"

2005 - Charles Villa-Vincencio (2005) "Aeolian Harp of Renewal: The Private and the Public in Political Engagement"

2004 - Jan Peter Balkenende, Prime Minister of The Netherlands "Solid Values for a Better Future"

2003 - Andrew Young, US Ambassador to the United Nations “Principled Pluralism and Contemporary Development in Africa"

2001 - James Skillen (2001) "E Pluribus Unum and Faith-Based Welfare Reform: A Kuyperian Moment for the Church in God's World"

2000 - Eka Darmaputera (2000) "The Search for a New Place and Role of Religion within the Democratic Order of the Post-Sooharto Indonesia"

1999 - John Witte, Director of the Center for Law and Religion, Emory University "God's Joust, God's Justice: The Revelations of Legal History"

1998 - George Puchinger (1998)

Graduate Student Awards

The Kuyper Center offers a number of awards to graduate students.  All awards are made by competition based on paper proposals for the annual Kuyper Center Conference held in April each year. The available awards are these:

Kuyper Research Fellowship  (one awarded annually)

This award is restricted to Ph.D. students at Princeton Theological Seminary and is made on the basis of a paper proposal for the annual Kuyper Center Conference.  The winning paper is included in the conference program.  A grant, currently worth $5,000 is subsequently made to enable the winner devote the summer vacation to incorporating the paper (or a related topic) in a Ph.D. dissertation, or developing it for publication

George Puchinger Prize   (one awarded annually)

Named in honor of the late historian of Neo-Calvinism, this prize is restricted to foreign national doctoral candidates enrolled in doctoral programs outside North America.  Currently valued at $2,000, the prize is intended to enable a graduate student to present a paper at the annual conference. The expectation is that the winner will use the opportunity to engage in research in the Abraham Kuyper Collection.

De Vries Doctoral Student Awards (four awarded annually)

Through the generosity of Dr. Rimmer De Vries, these awards are available to registered doctoral students in any country, and cover the cost of travel to and accommodataion at the annual conference for the purpose of delivering a paper.  Preference for two of these awards will normally be given to doctoral students registered in a North American institution.

Research Expenses

Research visits to the Abraham Kuyper Collectionare strongly encouraged. Short periods of research by graduate students are especially welcomed, and some financial assistance to meet expenses incurred by a visit is available.  Applications including the dates of the visit, the subject of research, an estimate of travel expenses, and short statement on the special relevance of the Kuyper Collection to the research should be sent to Dr. Clifford Anderson, Curator of  Special Collections, who will be pleased to answer queries about all the Special Collections.

All graduate student awards are made by means of competitive selection based on paper proposals for the annual conference. Proposals should take the form of an abstract of not more than 300 words and be submitted as an email attachment to [email protected] December 1, 2012.